Colour Themes

Style Switcher

Text Resize

Power system availability

Image of Union Territory of Puducherry

The Union Territory of Puducherry consists of four enclaves which are widely scattered in the three Southern States viz Puducherry and Karaikal enclaves in Tamil Nadu, Mahe enclave in Kerala and Yanam enclave in Andhara Pardesh. Puducherry which is the headquarters of the Union Territory is located 160 Kms down South of Chennai while Karaikal is located further down South at about 160 Kms from Puducherry. Mahe is located horizontally opposite to Puducherry on the Western coast at about 647 Kms from Puducherry and 58 Kms from Kozhikode, 24 Kms from Kannur in Kerala State. Yanam is located up North of Puducherry on the eastern coast at about 870 Kms from Puducherry and 24 Kms from Kakinada. 

The requirement of Power for the Union Territory is met from the allocation of Power from various Central Generating Stations (CGS), purchase of power from neighbouring State Electricity Boards and from the State owned Pondicherry Power Corporation which is running a 32.0 MW Gas based power plant in Karaikal region.

The details on allocation and availability of power from various sources, present power demand and power demand for the next five years are separately available for the entire Union Territory and for the respective regions. click on the respective link on the left to view the details.

Click the respective links below or on the map at the right side of the page to view the details for the Union Territory in Total or for any specific region

Back To Previous Page | Page last updated date: 15-01-2020